Pilgrim Reservations
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.0
 Rooms  4.0
 Cleanliness  4.6
 Location  4.6
 Security & Safety  4.6
 Service & Staff  4.6
 Food / Dining  4.4
 Total  4.4

"Enjoyment of stay depends on other guests attitude."

User Rating:  3.2
Reviewer:   Lina E. of Umina Beach, Australia
Reviewed:   June 21, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I checked in to this Guesthouse as Jalan Jalan Guesthouse was a little too noisy for me. I was welcomed by the owners & I thought I'd made a good choice of accommodation, however when other guests are noisy, take over the Guesthouse as it's their own home & generally speak loudly, then in these old shophouses, with timber floors & walls, one will invariably be affected by excess noise!

The rooms are a good size, the beds are comfortable & the location is good, however I would warn anyone about Melaka's traditional guesthouses. Get a room away from the main living areas & stay upstairs. Tell the hosts that you'd likea quiet room and don't be afraid to tell other guests to keep the noise down after 11p.m. Some people don't care about noise, others are more concerned and this can cause friction. The owners of this guesthouse seem to tolerate noisy behaviour late at night whereas Jalan Jalan does not. Single travellers be aware that there is no room for negotiation for a single room. You will be charged the twin-bed rate. I was so exhausted I paid the 45RM which was a little expensive for what I got. Jalan Jalan is far better value but noisier.

"great stay"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Axel B. of PARIS, France
Reviewed:   May 14, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   May 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This guest house is very well situated in the heart of Melaka by the river near the famous Chinatown.
Rooms are comfortable and there are warm showers.
Guests are very kind, we had a very good time here.

"AWESOME"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Antonia E. of Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   May 13, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It's awesome here and ray and mani are AMAZING!!(try her meatballs)

"A treasure in Chinatown"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   David W. of Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed:   May 11, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Arriving in Melaka amongst the beautiful history and culture, we were fortunate enough to stumble on another treasure, River View Guest
House. The recently renovated white stone building is ideally located in charming Chinatown. Open airy spaces, tasteful furnishing and a lovely terrace overlooking the Melaka River made the guesthouse feel like an oasis. Our bedroom was clean and spacious, the linen crisp and local art adourned the walls.

But above all, it was our hosts, Mani & Raymond, who made our stay so memorable, with advice, humour, genorisity, and pure, genuine Malaysian hospitality. Their knowledge of local cuisine and desire to share it was also gratefully received! Lovely curries thanks!

Though I don't normally complete reviews, I feel compelled to recommend a relaxing stay at River View. Immerse yourself in the hospitality, or just use it as a base for exploring...

Thanks so much Mani and Raymond!

"A cut above"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Derek V. of Montréal, QC, Canada
Reviewed:   April 22, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This new place is really special and a cut above. Wedged between old Chinese trading houses, the River View Guest House backs out onto the Melaka river. Pleasant upstairs balcony/reading area overlooking the water. The stylish old shop house is right in the heritage area of Melaka, completely renovated and furnished in good taste. It will appeal to people who are looking for a peaceful atmosphere. The rooms are simple but all have windows and the beds are business-hotel-quality. Get a room away from the street. There are no dorms, but otherwise it's a case of: run, don't walk!


1 - 5 of 5 reviews




PilgrimReservations Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us