Pilgrim Reservations
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.3
 Rooms  4.1
 Cleanliness  4.1
 Location  4.0
 Security & Safety  4.2
 Service & Staff  4.3
 Food / Dining  3.7
 Total  4.1

"Friendly Staff and great value"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Signey H. of Chicago, United States
Reviewed:   January 3, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
First time staying at this hostel and definitely would consider staying here again... the manager (Francisco) is very friendly and always made sure that the guest's needs were met. The rooms are a great value for the money, especially if you're traveling with a group. All rooms are private with shared bathroom, kitchen and other common areas. I was there in the winter so I didn't need to have A/C (A/C is an extra $8/night and only during nighttime hours) but the rooms have two fans for each of the lower bunk beds, and a ceiling fan good for both of the top bunk beds. All in all, this hostel is great.

"Great Hostel"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Byron H. of San Juan, United States
Reviewed:   April 24, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The amenities at the hostel are on the SJIH web site, but I can tell you that you will be comfortable and satisfied there. The hostel has a large comfortable living room, a large dining room, a fully equipped kitchen, two bathrooms, and an outside enclosed lounge area. It also has fast Wi-Fi, a guest computer, and a phone for local calls. Information on almost anything you would want to do in Puerto Rico is available at the hostel. SJIH is centrally and conveniently located in Santurce. Walking access to connecting buses and the metro rail express will allow you to travel to any location in San Juan in a reasonable amount of time. There is also a very good taxi service. Shopping, dining, hospitals and pharmacies are all very near the hostel without the need to travel far. SJIH is managed quite well. Each day I looked forward to a pleasant experience when I was there, and each night I looked forward to a restful sleep. I recommend this hostel because you will get very good travel accommodations for your money.

"Very Convenient and Great Owner"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   James B. of Cambridge, United States
Reviewed:   April 16, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hostel was close to a bunch of great places to eat, good nightlife nearby plus a small market for basics, and beer. The man who runs the hostel is super nice and loves to help answer questions or offer suggestions for things to do/see in the area, as well as offering a computer in the main room to use with internet! Highly recommend!

"Great Stay"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   Anna M. of New York, United States
Reviewed:   February 12, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Comfortable accomodations. A short distance from the beaches, bus stops, and La Placita. Would stay here again!

"A wonderful place!"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Marly M. of Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Reviewed:   February 2, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Everyone at San Juan International Hostal was incredibly helpful and kind. We stayed in the all female room and it was great! There were several fans, functioning air conditioner, and big lockers for our suitcases.

The maps and other resources in the communal area were incredibly invaluable; we were told of many fun things to do and didn't get lost once because of the great directions given.

The hostal is in a quiet part of town that is relatively safe. We appreciated that other guests were respectful of quiet hours and slept well.

We highly recommend staying here!

"Like a prison"

User Rating:  1.4
Reviewer:   Pat M. of Denver, United States
Reviewed:   January 22, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This place is a dump. Moldy walls, old dirty bathrooms, cockroaches and messy kitchen. It's not the worst place I stayed but it's way overpriced. They need a total remodel and new furnishings. Seems the owners just want easy money without providing a nice place. Save your money and get a hotel instead.

"Best Hostel Service I Have Ever Experienced"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Steve H. of Jeffersonville, PA, United States
Reviewed:   January 4, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2016     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at, and the best for service. I arrived after hours and received perfect instructions on how to enter the facility and occupy a bed. The owner is friendly and helpful. The facility was immaculate, and the location just a short walk to the bus stop and places to eat (Subway). The house is charming and colorful. I cannot stop thinking about it even after I returned home. It was a truly beautiful little house, and I could have stayed there much longer, and still been perfectly comfortable there. I spent most of my time in Old San Juan, so I guess the location could be better if located directly in Old San Juan, but if I stayed in OSJ only I would not have experienced true San Juan. I highly recommend this hostel, and will stay there every time I visit San Juan. What a terrific experience living there was.

"2nd Stay always great"

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   Tad E. of Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
Reviewed:   December 4, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2016     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I've stayed at SJ international a few times. Each time it has been a safe and enjoyable experience. I even met some really cool people. Francisco, the caretaker, is very helpful and personable. It's not a 5 star hotel, but for the budget traveler, I can't think of a better place to stay.

"Cozy spot, convenient location, excellent owner"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Karan B. of Manalapan, New Jersey, United States
Reviewed:   September 29, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2016     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed for about a week, and had a room to myself (it's the slow season in PR). The owner was very helpful and was always available by phone. He pointed out all the best spots in the area which was all you could really need. The hostel had a nice little balcony and was within minutes walk from La Placita (my favourite spot in the city for salsa dancing and partying), and other cool bars. He even gave me money back for one night after a power outage knocked out power for the entire island, which he didn't have to do. Worth staying here!

"The place to stay at when in Puerto Rico!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Rogelio S. of Oregon, United States
Reviewed:   September 27, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2016     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I had an awesome experience while staying at International Hostel, it is very safe, friendly, and the manager is super cool. I will defitnelly recommend to any body wondering if the y should stay at International Hostel, do not nder because International Hostel is the place to stay at.


1 - 10 of 50 reviews  Next 10 results




PilgrimReservations Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us